My Very First WIAW

Happy Hump Day, and happier day off to me!

Since today is Wednesday and I’ve been wanting to broaden my horizons in the blogging world, I figured I would hop on the Peas & Crayons‘ WIAW bandwagon and list in great detail every single thing I’ve eaten today. Since it’s something I kind of do anyway, why not?

I am trying to veer away from documenting every meal on the daily. You will notice my posts will start to focus in on maybe one special, featured meal. I want to keep things exciting and this way, it’ll be more thrilling, everything you’d ever hoped for and more when reading my blog! You into it? Good. Me too.

Breakfast:

Nutty Nut Butter Protein Pancakes (adapted from PBFingers’ Greek Yogurt Protein Pancakes)

Image

Cooked on medium high heat with coconut oil

  • 3/4 cup oats
  • 6 oz. greek yogurt (I used Fage 0% original)
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 tb almond milk
  • Spoonful of peanut butter
  • Spoonful of almond butter
  • 1 handful chopped walnuts
  • Ground flax meal (your discretion)
  • Chia seeds
  • Pinch of cinnamon
  • Pinch of nutmeg

Topped with almond butter, peanut butter & chia seeds

Mid-morning snack:

Watermelon: my summer fling

Image

Lunch:

Cool Quinoa, Veggies & Hummus

Image

  • Quinoa (Basil & black pepper seasoning) w/ chopped bell peppers & mushrooms
  • Dollop of hummus
  • Celery
  • Sliced bell pepper

Mid-afternoon snack:

Coconutty Coffee & Pretzels

Image

I wanted to try this whole coconut milk in coffee craze I’ve been reading about in fellow health blogs, and since I was home all day doing schoolwork, I figured today was the day. After searching the house for coconut milk we supposedly had, I found some– canned. I didn’t know this was an issue until I thought about the logistics when it actually came down to opening the can with the can opener.

From consulting with one of my fellow health-foodies, I don’t think this is the kind for coffee, but I tried it anyways for kicks. It gave my coffee a nice flavor, but really didn’t dissolve all too fantastically.

Image

Next time I’m at the store, I will have to pick up some coconut milk in a carton. Now that seems a little more realistic.

Coffee is something that I tend to drink pretty much daily, as do A LOT of people, so implementing a creamer substitute that is so much less processed and just overall better for me is the best route to take. Don’t ya think?

I still need to try coconut water though…

Dinner:

Pesto Topped Salmon & Salad

Image

Salmon

  • Fresh frozen salmon
  • Garlic basil pesto
  • Olive oil

Let filet thaw out, cover thawed salmon filet w/ olive oil. Top each filet with a thick layer of pesto. Bake in oven at 425 degrees for 12-15 minutes.

Salad

  • Lettuce
  • Onions
  • Peppers
  • Mushrooms
  • Homemade Italian dressing

Evening snack:

Deliciously crisp grapes

Image

Current thoughts:

After reading through so many healthy living blogs lately, I feel inspired to really try my best to eat as clean as I can. This means no processed foods whatsoever. There are so many awesome whole foods options out there that I’m sure is I won’t feel limited in doing this. (Not Whole Foods Market, but real, wholesome foods–I do need to make a trip there soon though!)

I’ll also be trying to stay away from gluten, or too much of it anyways, as I’m sick and tired of that undesirable post-meal bloating. Not cool.

Exciting news:

My mom ran by GNC today and picked up some protein powder for us! I’m already so pumped for the shake I plan on making in the morning. I’ll give you deets on that tomorrow!

Alright, well only 2 more days until the weekend and my trip to Blacksburg! We can make it!

Chow until next time!

2 thoughts on “My Very First WIAW

  1. I too drink coffee on a daily basis.. It’s one of the few habits I can’t seem to (or don’t want to) kick 😉 I usually use So Delicious coconut creamer and it’s actually pretty decent! I take it in my purse to breakfast dates or on road trips. It’s still a bit processed but much healthier for you than dairy-based creamer!

Leave a comment