Mozzarella Caprese & an Egg Scramble Kind of Weekend

First off, Happy Fathers Day to all those lovely fathers out there!

Here’s an infamous Insta occasion pic of my dad and I last summer in St. Thomas. Kind of wishing I could teleport there right now…

Image

To start off, this weekend was just what I had expected: a get-stuff-done type weekend, which is fine, but I need a little summer adventure. Summer 2013 is feeling a bit dull.

Good thing I’m heading to Blacksburg next weekend! I’m pretty excited to see some of my good friends that are actually spending the summer there and start the move into my new apartment with my good friend and soon-to-be-roommate, Bong.

Okay so rewind…

Friday evening was a girl’s night in. Participants: Mother and I.

Friday’s Dinner:

Mozzarella Caprese Dip served w/ Multigrain bread

ImageImage

My mom and I both had a later lunch and weren’t too hungry, so this did the trick. All I had to say was wow! We originally found this recipe on Pinterest, our go to, about a year ago, but this was the best it’s ever been. One thing she did differently? You’d never believe…

She added MORE garlic. If you know my mom at all than this wouldn’t surprise you. She’s a garlic fiend and I’m happy she is. It added even more flavor to this already amazing dish.

  • Fresh mozzarella
  • Roma tomatoes (sliced)
  • Fresh garlic (minced)
  • Fresh basil

Bake in oven at 375 degrees for 15 minutes, then broil for 2 minutes.

Definitely one of our better Pinterest finds.

Saturday morning started with an 8 AM alarm, which was so very nice, a whole 2 hours of extra sleep. Who would’ve thought I’d be excited for an 8 AM alarm on a weekend? Gotta love my summer schedule!

Saturday’s Workout:

The 3 miles was actually kind of spur of the moment and has a funny story. I don’t know about you guys, but I really don’t like running around other runners outside. The treadmill is fine, because you can’t really tell how fast the other person is going and you’re beside them, not in front of or behind them, so you don’t really care.

So, I was running along the main street I live off of, about to turn onto the smaller neighborhood street I typically turn into to do the majority of my run, and what do you know? Another runner comes from nowhere and turns into the street. Well, if I had turned like I normally would have, I would have been either trailing him the entire time, which is annoying, or awkwardly pass him and then him watch me run the entire time. I wasn’t about that, so I kept on the main road, a risky move in some’s eyes.

Maybe it was the change of scenery or the steady traffic passing by, but I was so revved up, I felt like I could keep going and going. So, thank you fellow runner, thank you.

It was so beautiful out Saturday morning, I could barely stand it.

Image

Image

P.S. Sorry about the lack of eye presence in this pic. I guess we’ve never talked about this, but I have super sun-sensitive eyes. I’ve learned this from any outdoor pictures ever. I’ve just kind of given up.

Saturday’s Workout attire:

Apparently I was really feeling the thumbs up on Saturday.

Image

I fully enjoy wearing bright colors while working out. You can’t look drab while feeling fab. That wouldn’t be right, now would it?

Saturday’s Brunch:

Tomato Mushroom Basil Grilled Chicken Egg White Scramble

Image

I found this chicken in the fridge, so I figured I might as well throw it in!

ImageImageImageImageImage

  • Roma tomato (sliced & diced)
  • Large mushroom (sliced)
  • Fresh basil (3 medium leaves)
  • Small piece of grilled chicken (sliced)
  • 2 egg whites

So I’m just highlighting the cooler stuff here…(because majority of my weekend was spent doing summer class funzies :()

No workout for Sunday. I almost always use it as my rest day. Much needed too. These new pilates exercises I’ve been incorporating lately have me feeling super sore.

This morning before 9:30 mass, I quick cut some apples and drizzled some almond butter atop (an obvious favorite).

Sunday’s Breakfast:

Image

Father’s Day Dinner:

My dad whipped up this masterpiece, as he usually does. Hey, he wanted to cook on Father’s day, and I wasn’t about to pass that up.

Image

  • Dill grilled halibut (1/2)
  • Grilled asparagus
  • Grilled brussel sprouts
  • Blue potato (1/2)

Oh, and here’s your daily dose of Hudson from this weekend:

He managed to climb up on the table to get his ball– only problem he found was how on earth to get down.

Image

Hudson and Kyle being cute & cuddly after dinner this evening.

ImageImage

Hope your weekend was more eventful than mine, and let the work week begin. Hello Monday…

Yeah, I was serious about that St. Thomas teleporting…