Happy Protein Pancake Friday

As you may have grasped from the title, I made some cool pancakes this morning, one of the many recipes I have been meaning to try from Peanut Butter Fingers, my favorite blog and one of my biggest inspirations for starting my own.

Today began with some exercise to get my booty moving, heart pumping, and body sweating. The uje (usual).

Workout:

  • 2.5 miles (interval running)
  • 250 abdominal variations (250 in sets of 25)
  • Inner thigh lifts (3 minutes/leg)
  • Elevated clams (3 minutes/side…OW!)
  • Plank (1 minute)
  • Yoga stretches

Reaching for the light! Symbolic?

Image

I noticed that I had so much energy for my workout this morning. I was loving it. I think I may have an inkling as to why though. Last night’s dinner was a little heavier on carbs than I usually like, but nonetheless, delicious. Carbs = fuel, but in moderation.

Last night’s dinner:

  • Lemon caper chicken
  • Sauteed garlic chicken
  • Garlic basil mutli-grain pasta
  • Multigrain harvest bread (served warm: SO good!)
  • Salad: lettuce, carrots, onions & Italian dressing

See, browner than my plate typically looks.

Image

If we have an Italian meal served with bread, my mom always sets out dips, which are always so, so tasty!

Image

Back to this morning and these delicious pancakes…

After scanning through all of the PBFingers recipes I have been meaning to try, I saw that I had all of the ingredients and was sold on these pancakes.

Breakfast:

Greek Yogurt Protein Pancakes

I added a few extras to the recipe:

  • Cinnamon
  • Nutmeg
  • Flaxmeal
  • Chia seeds

Image

Image

Image

I ate them with some organic pure maple syrup we got from BJ’s, and some crisp red grapes.

Lunch:

  • Leftover quinoa
  • Celery
  • Pretzels
  • Hummus
  • Almond butter/PB mix

As I was packing it…

Image

On the job today, I got to work with some Spanish. Oh, the little things!

Image

When I finally got out of work, it was gorgeous out and the clouds were looking dapper as ever. It’s like the skies were making sure we all knew it was Friday. I also might have a slight obsession with taking clouds pics.

Image

This weekend will be a get-my-life-together type weekend, consisting of cleaning, schoolwork, and maybe the start of some more of my anticipated summer projects. OH, and hopefully some more new recipe experiments!

Work out, chow down and enjoy your weekend all.