Stepping Up in the Protein Shake World

Guess what…?!

This girl is now the proud owner of some protein powder (aka shake amping juice)!

So naturally, today is where all the magic begins.

This morning my alarm clock went off at 6 AM and I was ready to go, for I had a lovely running mate waiting on me about 1.2 miles away.

My friend Bong and I devised a creative running plan so there would be no driving to and from involved. I began running from my house at 6:15 and met her at her house, about 1.2 miles away.

We then ran together to a street continuing away from both of our houses for about .4 miles. Finally, we headed back in the direction of my house, where Bong turned back halfway. I’m so proud of her determination. Go Bong!

Workout:

  • 3 miles (steady)
  • 250 abdominal exercises (sets of 25)
  • 1 minute front plank

Workout gear:

Image

Onto the celebrity of the day…

MY SHAKE!

After an egg & swiss cheese sandwich on an English muffin, I was craving something sweet. How perfect too, because it was just about time to concoct my shake to take on my way to work.

Mocha Protein Shake

Image

  • 1 scoop Chocolate Designer Whey Protein Powder
  • 6 oz. Fage 0% Plain Greek Yogurt
  • 1 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1 shot of coffee (or espresso)
  • 3 ice cubes
  • 1/4 cup ground flax meal (not pictured)
  • 1 tb chia seeds (not pictured)

Image

I was clearly having a splendid time drinking it on my way to work. I’m pretty sure it was completely gone less than 8 minutes into the commute. Oops.

Image

This shake was a total experiment. I randomly put things in it this morning that I thought would make it tasty, but this will definitely be a learning process.

Next time, I probably won’t add the extra cocoa powder because it was chocolatey enough.

Who knows what will be next on the shake agenda?

I think I’m seeing something green in the near future…

Well, tomorrow afternoon I’m off to Blacksburg for the weekend and will most likely not be blogging, but rather relaxing with some very missed school friends. I can’t wait!

Have a splendid, healthful weekend everyone!

Leave a comment