Banana Walnut [Vegan] Muffins

Happy Friday, and happy first official day of winter break to my Hokies!

I couldn’t be more happy to finally be home and able to relax. Virginia Tech happened to have the latest finals week out of any university I know, so that wasn’t exactly thrilling, but all that is over and done with. Thank goodness. Too-duh-loo to Fall Semester 2013!

I posted a picture of some delicious Banana Walnut [Vegan] Muffins that I made last Sunday morning on Instagram [@Chowido] and said I would be posting the recipe soon, so here you go!

Image

Inspired by Minimalist Baker’s Vegan Banana Nut Muffins for Two.

This recipe only serves 2; per muffin.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour (I used normal whole wheat flour)
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 very ripe banana
  • 3 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp vegan butter, melted (I used coconut oil)
  • 1 small flax egg (1/2 tbsp flaxseed meal + t tbsp water)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 4 tbsp whole walnuts, more for topping if desired

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees, lightly butter (coconut oil) two muffin holders in a muffin pan, and prepare flax egg to set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, mash the banana, leaving some texture.
  3. Add brown sugar, baking soda, salt and whisk for one minute.
  4. Stir in flax egg, vanilla, melted butter (coconut oil) and stir.
  5. Add flour and stir with a spoon or spatula until just combined. Add walnuts after combined.
  6. Divide batter evenly into muffin holders (about 1/2 to 3/4 full) and generously top with walnuts (if desired).
  7. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until tops are golden brown and a toothpick or knife comes out clean. Let cool for a few minutes, remove from pan, and serve warm.

Today, I began my “Winter Break of Weight Lifting” challenge at my local gym. I went right around noon, and happened to be joined by the Fairfax County Fire Department. My lucky day, haha!

Be expecting a post soon about the start of my holiday fitness journey! I’m pretty excited about it. Not going to lie, I feel really intense in the gym now that I have a better idea of what I’m doing and always have a set workout routine to follow. I think I could get used to this. No wandering, clueless girl in the weight room here! 🙂

Enjoy your weekend, all!

Chow.