Boyfriend or Trainer?

Good evening, all!

As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I’ve recently gotten more into weight lifting, and have been absolutely LOVING it.

I had heard of how great it was before, but, like most girls, thought that I would turn into a masculine looking body builder woman and that it was really only for the guys. It’s quite the contrare.

I have to give some mad props to my boyfriend Ryan for initially getting me into it. He’s actually been quite the trainer, literally guiding me through everything there is to know about weight lifting with his extensive knowledge about anything and everything with weights, muscle groups and the certain foods one needs to build and retain this muscle. I’m actually pretty lucky to have found a guy that is as into fitness and nutrition as I am, if not more. I’d say it’s a pretty good 2 for 1 deal.

Here he is with his blackberry glazed salmon, sweet potato and asparagus at my all-time favorite Blacksburg restaurant, Gillies! Although he isn’t vegan, he is an extremely health conscious eater. I love it.

Image

Here we are all spruced up for my sorority’s semi-formal date function!

Image

I only started weight lifting halfway through the semester, maybe 2-3 times a week, and have already noticed some great results. Yes, cardio is necessary and fabulous for you, great for slimming down and staying in shape, but once you’re there, there’s not much else your body will do once it’s hit that plateau. This is where weight lifting comes in! Everyone wants to be toned, and this is how you get that, I’ve learned! Muscles I haven’t worked in years (back to my cheer days) are being worked again and I’m continuously seeing more definition with every workout. It’s such an electric feeling!

Here’s a progress pic of where I’m at now. Hopefully there will be more to come as the winter break weeks roll by.

Image

But of course with all these new, intense workouts come new, intense sore muscles. I can easily say I’m sore 3/4 of the week, but I secretly love it. It’s the good kind of pain, the pain that brings so much satisfaction.

I feel even more empowered that I can call myself a “vegan weight lifter,” proving all those weakling vegan stereotypes wrong. Plant-based power is where it’s at. 🙂

Here is my updated Vegan Nutrition Chart, all colored in and laminated, incase you were wondering how I will ever possibly be getting all my “protein” or other nutrients for this weight-lifting thang, or just general nutrition.

Image

After a fabulous suggestion from my good friend, Kendall, my sorority sister and fellow health nut, and consulting with Ryan, my health & fitness guru of a boyfriend, I’ve decided that I will be doing a “Winter Break of Weight Lifting” challenge.  During the time I’m home for break (roughly 25 days), I will partake in almost strictly weight lifting 4-5 times per week and adjusting my diet accordingly to hopefully achieve all the toning work I’m going for.

Following a scheduled regimen, handcrafted by Ryan, my weeks will look a bit like this:

Pre-New Years (4 days/week)

  • Sunday= Off
  • Monday= Legs
  • Tuesday= Chest/triceps
  • Wednesday= Off
  • Thursday= Back/biceps
  • Friday= Shoulders/traps
  • Saturday= Off

Post-New Years (5 days/week)

  • Sunday= Off
  • Monday= Legs
  • Tuesday= Chest/triceps
  • Wednesday= Off
  • Thursday= Shoulders/traps
  • Friday= Legs
  • Saturday= Back/biceps

I also plan on incorporating Bikram [hot] yoga into my winter break (my fav!). I’m thinking weight-lifting and yoga will be the perfect cross training.

Oh and here is my lovely salad from earlier today from the Owen’s (Virginia Tech dining hall) salad bar post leg day workout, equipped with spinach, carrots, cukes, red onions, broccoli, cauliflower, quinoa tabouleh and whole wheat soba noodles, with a drizzle of olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Delish!

Image

Well, it’s about time for me to get back to my studying. I think I’ve procrastinated enough at this point. Hopefully it paid off though and you all enjoyed reading!

Only 2 more final exams to go and I’ll be on my way back home Thursday morning to relax (when I’m not lifting 😉 ) and enjoy the holiday season with loved ones. The anticipation is killing me.

Until next time chow-i-do-ers! 🙂