Two Weeks Too Long

Long time, no see!

It’s been a while since my last post, so I do apologize for that.

My life in Blacksburg has been a whirl wind since the semester began. I never would have thought I would be too busy to blog. I didn’t even think that was a real thing.

Let’s get back into it though, shall we? I’ll try my best to catch you up from the past two weeks.

Here’s the roomies and I tailgating for the first home game! How good it feels to be back in Hokie Ball season!

Image

Don’t worry guys, I brought a snack for the game! A long day of football will make for a hungry girl.

Image

I finally tried the Amy’s soy cheese pizza I picked up a little while ago! It honestly tasted the same, granted I accidentally overcooked it, so it was all a bit dark and crunchy.

Image

I’ve been staying busy with fun events through my sorority as well! Obviously we’re not ready to let summer go just yet.

Image

I’ve made sure to continue my cookings, no worries! Yay for quinoa! This bowl included quinoa, spinach, tomatoes and garlic with a bit of Italian seasoning.

Image

My lovely, amazing mother came to visit last week and brought along her infamous Kangoo Jumps boots! After a trial fitness class with some of my girlfriends and mom, we all bounced around and had a mini class taught by the woman herself…in the parking lot outside the fitness studio, because why not?

ImageImageImage

I tried this as a sub for my post-workout chocolate milk. It was delish, but I’d still have to say chocolate coconut water steals the show post workout.

Image

Incase you were wondering, my roommates and I have 4 shelves in our pantry, so naturally each of us get one. I claimed the top one…..and I bet they’re happy I did now. I guess you could say I have a bit of an array.

Image

My business fraternity executive board meeting was held at Panera, as our advisor was meeting and treating us. This was my first trip to Panera as a vegan, so I was a little skeptical on what all I could get. Here is what I ended up chowing on.

  • Mediterranean Veggie Sandwich (with no feta cheese & on whole wheat bread)
  • Garden Veggie Pesto Soup
  • Apple

Image

Of course my mom came bearing gifts. I had been craving real licorice for what seemed like the entire summer and we couldn’t find any anywhere–only that Twizzler bogus. BUT FINALLY she found these absolutely scrumptious RJ’s Licorice Logs, I believe at Whole Foods.

Image

She also brought 20+ premade chickpea spinach burgers, my favorite. No, they are really nothing like a burger, but their taste is phenomenal.

Image

I toasted up some Ezekial 7 Sprouted Grain bread, lathered on some hummus, mushed on my chickpea spinach burger and loaded on the kale. All ready to eat.

Image

She also brought down containers full of her famous minestrone soup, another favorite of mine. These two things have brought so much joy to my days. You have no idea.

Image

Although I’ve only been in Blacksburg for a short time, I scheduled to visit my friends in Boone, NC, at Appalachian State, where I went freshman year, months back. I hadn’t seen them in almost a year and it’s always so nice being back to that beautiful, mountainous town.

On the trip down, I snacked on my favorite flavor Larabar, Peanut Butter Cookie.

Image

I got so excited when I saw the sign! Boone, here I come!

Image

The drive from Blacksburg to Boone is easily one of the prettiest, as you rise about 2000 feet in elevation as you go.

Image

Upon my request, we went to this amazing, little vegetarian restaurant in Boone called Hob Knob. I love all that they stand for. They only accept cash, do not serve high fructose corn syrup and get all their foods from local farmers, not to mention the creativeness of all their dishes.

Here was their specials menu. I ended up ordering the Butternut-Apple Enchiladas.

Image

The apples, spinach and butternut squash was an interesting combo, as I’d never had a sweet enchilada, but it was quite yummy.

Image

Here are my Boone besties! How I’ve missed them!

Image

So I went to Panera again, this time for breakfast, as it was right behind their Boone apartment. I knew I wanted to get oatmeal and this apple chip cinnamon one is their latest and greatest so I figured I’d give it a go. I wasn’t expecting it to be as sweet as it was. Compared to the oatmeal I usually eat, this was a treat. It was perfectly warming for that cool crisp fall morning though.

Image

We headed off to the local farmer’s market after Panera, and I was loving every second of it. Farmer’s markets are the coolest.

How much more fall can you get?

Image

These produce photos definitely got me thinking, I would love to have veggie art in my home…

ImageImage

Before I left to head back to Blacksburg, we did a quick hike to Rough Ridge on Sunday morning. I’ve missed the gorgeous Blue Ridge Parkway.

Image

Rough Ridge has to be one of my favorite views. Pretty pretty, huh?

ImageImage

Upon purchasing some pumpkin butter at the Boone  farmer’s market, I knew I had to incorporate it in my breakfast Monday morning, so I whipped up some pumpkin butter oats!

  • Steel cut oats
  • Pumpkin butter
  • PB2
  • Walnuts
  • Chia seeds
  • Flax meal
  • Almond milk
  • Cinnamon sprinkle

…along side some coconut creamer’d Sbux House blend coffee.

Image

Here was a tasty salad of mine. Chick peas never get old to me. They’re like a best friend you somehow never get sick of.

Image

This time I added my leftover spaghetti squash and chickpeas, both heated, and tossed on some cool tomatoes and cucumbers for a bit of a refresher. Scrum-diddly-umptious.

Image

Along with my own cooking, I’ve been eating on campus from time to time. This salad from Soup Garden has been my go-to. Same as last year’s go-to, but with tofu instead of salmon. #veganlife

[spinach, carrots, cukes, roasted almonds, pickled ginger, smoked tofu & champagne vinaigrette]

Image\

Well that was a bit lengthy…woops. Hopefully I won’t have to catch you up on another whole 2 weeks again.

I think it’s fair to give myself a 1 blog post per week minimum. That way, both my readers and I are content. Deal? Perfect.

Last night was my sorority’s date party and today was the second home football game, so as you might imagine, I’m a little worn out.

It’s time for this one to do a little bit of chillaxing.

Chow for now!

4 thoughts on “Two Weeks Too Long

  1. Did your mom teach that class? If so that is unreal. If not its still unreal that she brought you vegan goodies when she visited! Have you ever tried Panda licorice? It’s my favorite! Comes in sticks and little pieces and I’ve seen it at almost all health food stores and organic sections of grocery stores Mm 🙂

    1. My mom is a Kangoo Jumps fitness instructor and distributor! She brought the boots down with her to visit me so some of my friends could try them out too! Yes, she’s the best when it comes to little (food) gifts. I’ve never tried Panda licorice, but I think I might have to now!

Leave a comment