Calm After the Stress Storm of a Week

This past week was hectic to say the very least. With two exams, an interview and homework on homework, I felt that I barely had time to focus on basic needs, let alone my food and fitness (not okay).

I know I always say no excuses, that you can always make time for something if it means enough to you…BUT sometimes life really does hand you lemons, and all you can do while you’re busy with schoolwork is squeeze the juice you can get out with the time you have, delaying the making of that good ‘ol lemonade we all know and love.

I did what I could this week, with the time I had to spare, but it definitely didn’t cut it in my book.

Although being a college student is awesome, I’m also looking forward to my time after college, and truly being able to focus on my well being, making my way to exactly where I want to be health and fitness-wise, without academic distractions.

For the time being though, I’ve been making a lot of this stuff…vegan go-to’s.

Little Italy Quinoa

Image

  • Cooked quinoa
  • Chopped, sauteed garlic
  • Chopped, sauteed onions
  • Sauteed tomatoes
  • Sauteed spinach leaves
  • Fresh basil leaves
  • Italian seasoning

All sauteed in a pan with olive oil! (the usual)

Little Italy Quinoa + Chick Peas

Image

I simply added the balsamic roasted chickpeas to the mix and heated all the flavors together from my leftover quinoa dish.

Image

Chickpea-Spinach Burger on Multi-grain Baguette 

Image

As I mentioned previously, my mom brought me down about 20 of her specialty chickpea-spinach burgers that I love so much when she visited a couple of weeks ago. This time I heated some fresh frozen multigrain baguette she also brought me on her trip. I added in some hummus and spinach to the mix as well. You can never have too much hummus or spinach, as far as I’m concerned.

Study Snack Platter

After my Thursday evening exam, I ran to Kroger to replenish my stock, and came home to snack on this little feast.

  • Baby carrots
  • Red grapes
  • Multi-grain crackers
  • Sabra Pine Nut Hummus (my fav!)

Image

Apple Almond Butter Cinnamon Cereal Masterpiece

This combination is one of my favorites in the morning. It packs a crispy, sweet, tangy wholesome crunch that’s also cool and refreshing.

ImageImage

As the week dragged on, with hour after hour of studying, I found myself getting pretty stressed out. My solution to everything and anything in life these days has been candles. I light them in the day, at night, while studying, while bathing, while getting ready. Their subtle flicker and soothing scent calms me, and gets me to a healthier, clearer state of mind.

The candle pictured below is the one I keep on my desk, my study candle. This “Star Jasmine” scent is one of my favorites and the ceramic design is just darling. I have a total of 13 candles in my room and bathroom, all varying earthy scents. You could say I’m a fan.

Image

Finally the weekend came and I got to sit back and relax, sort of. Saturday morning was Virginia Tech’s “Greeks Giving Back,” where greek organizations are assigned projects within the Blacksburg community as a way to give back and carry out VT’s motto, “ut prosim” (that I may serve). Whether painting a fence, raking leaves, washing windows or cars, it’s a great way to get more hands on in the community and get to know the residents. I found it to be such a rewarding Saturday morning.

…rewarding enough to treat myself to a Soy Pumpkin Spice Latte! It’s a must once fall rolls around.

The picture defines my morning well: #PSL and work gloves.

Image

Later on Saturday, some of my sorority sisters and I headed to Chipotle! I hadn’t had Chipotle in what seemed like forever, so I was pretty pumped. What my vegan Chipotle order looks like (in line order):

  • Salad please (bed of lettuce)
  • Brown rice
  • Black beans
  • Fajita Veggies
  • Pico de Gallo
  • Medium salsa
  • Guac (free w/ veggie order!)
  • More lettuce

Image

Apple PB Nutty Cinnamon Oats

  • Steel cut oats
  • Diced granny smith apple
  • Almond milk
  • Walnuts
  • Almonds
  • PB2
  • Flax meal
  • Chia seeds
  • Cinnamon

Microwave for 3 minutes. Indulge.

Image

Exercise

Lately, my work outs have only consisted of running, as that’s all I’ve felt like I have had time to do. If I am not able to wake up and go before class, which is preferable, I will try and take a study break and get out for 30 minutes or so.

It’s easy to forget how crucial working out is to proper, healthy functioning while overwhelmed with a “hell week.” I find myself much more uptight and stressed out when I skip a work out. Exercising really is the perfect study break. My focus is improved after I work out and I find I’m more energized, as less yawning occurs.

🙂

Well, I have my sorority chapter meeting in a little, and afterward I’m heading to the gym! I haven’t been to the on-campus gym, McComas, in a little over a week, so you could say I’m pretty excited…like hood up, headphones in, music blasting excited. Can’t wait.

Chow for now!

How do you stay calm, cool and collected when times get stressful?